Is Bigger Always Better? Trends in Cargo Vessel Capacity
The Conference Board uses cookies to improve our website, enhance your experience, and deliver relevant messages and offers about our products. Detailed information on the use of cookies on this site is provided in our cookie policy. For more information on how The Conference Board collects and uses personal data, please visit our privacy policy. By continuing to use this Site or by clicking "OK", you consent to the use of cookies. 

Is Bigger Always Better? Trends in Cargo Vessel Capacity


July 05, 2022 | Report

Container vessels have become larger over the last decade because of the expansion of the Panama Canal and other infrastructure upgrades. Utilizing these economies of scale has altered the global shipping industry and may now also direct affect the need to upgrade ports and create additional capacity landside.  This brief outlines some of the changes in global shipping and explores the consequences for US businesses and port operators.


AUTHOR

AlexanderHeil, PhD

Senior Economist, ESF Center
The Conference Board


Press Releases / In the News

Data central

Subscribe to Access Data Central & Chart Reports

Your centralized, one-stop portal for accessing and exporting The Conference Board global suite of monthly and quarterly economic data. Get up to speed on critical trends—anytime, anywhere—with customizable real-time datasets.

Economic Indicator Calendar

All release times displayed are Eastern Time

Global Economic Indicators

Learn more Yellow and white frame illustration

Upcoming Events

Connect and be informed about this topic through webcasts, virtual events and conferences


Explore More on this Topic


Publications


Webcasts, Podcasts and Videos

Reshoring Trend Boosts US Manufacturing Growth

December 13, 2023 11:00 AM ET (New York)

The Economic Outlook for Europe

July 12, 2023 11:00 AM ET (New York)

The Economic Outlook for India and MENA

June 14, 2023 11:00 AM ET (New York)

Closing the Loop: Exploring Solutions to Bridge the Circular Economy Gap

May 24, 2023 09:00 AM ET (New York), 03:00 PM CET (Brussels), 09:00 PM SGT (Singapore)

Turning Digital Transformation opportunities into tangible Business Model Innovation

February 21, 2023 11:00 AM ET (New York), 05:00 PM CET (Brussels)

China View: Status Assessment and Near-term Growth Outlook

November 03, 2022 09:00 AM CET (Brussels), 04:00 PM SGT (Singapore)

hubCircleImage